Study The Scriptures

Have you heard this quote: If you want to talk to GodprayIf you want him to talk to youread your scriptures.”? It was said by an Apostle named Richard G. Scott. How amazing is to talk to God through prayer. I shared my lesson about The Power of Prayer on my previous blog. I am yet amazed to know that God can talk to us through reading the scriptures.

The Holy Bible

The Holy Scriptures are writings of experiences and lessons learned from people who believed in God. They contain historical accounts of people, places, and events that have changed the world. The Holy Bible, most read and beloved book on Earth, shares the good message of God, our Eternal Father and His Son, Jesus Christ. Another scripture that has eternal value to a Christian is The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ. Together with the Doctrine and Covenants and Pearl of Great Price they create the fulness of the gospel of Jesus Christ. The scriptures have brought me to God more than anything else. They were the foundation stone where my faith began to build

Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee..

Deuteronomy 31:6 (The Old Testament BIBLE KJV)

When I was young, I never liked to read any books. I only liked colorful books with images on them. So when I started my journey in the Church, I had been given a challenge: to read the Book of Mormon. Not only the book was hard to read, but it didn’t make any sense to me. I knew God existed and I did pray to Him, once in a while, but I wondered how He could talk to me. As I read from the first chapters of the Book of 1 Nephi, something hit me. It was the Holy Spirit testifying to me that the story I read, wasn’t just a story. Then, as I kept reading, I found great lessons embedded in stories and people, lessons that helped me understand the will of God. My faith started to gleam and roots of testimony were starting to take place. I felt good. I felt God was speaking to me.

Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.

John 5:39 (The New Testament BIBLE KJV)

As I grew up in my religion, I found the scriptures to be very essential to my faith. They helped me learn more about my Savior, Jesus Christ and His incredible life and mission on Earth. The words I have read from other peoples experiences helped me stay strong and hopeful in life. In times of struggle, I found peace and tranquility, knowing that good things come to those who love God. My scriptures have been my greatest resource of strength and direction to God. They are part of my daily routine and studying them has blessed my life tremendously. I cannot resist digging in the scriptures with my highlighters and study journal. Studying the scriptures its the best thing I do every day.

Angels speak by the power of the Holy Ghost; wherefore, they speak the words of Christ. Wherefore, I said unto you, feast upon the words of Christ; for behold, the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do.

2 Nephi 32:3 (The Book of Mormon)

My heart was shattered when I saw how wrongly people treat the Holy Scriptures. Once I saw a Book of Mormon torn to pieces and trashed into a filthy bin. I have also seen how carelessly members of the church, throw away the sacred books, or worst yet, leave them untouched in the bookshelf to be covered with dust. Why would you treat the words of God like that?

Learn of me, and listen to my words; walk in the meekness of my Spirit, and you shall have peace in me.

Doctrine and Covenants 19:23

I believe strongly that the way we treat our scriptures defines partially the love we have for our Father in Heaven. On my full-time missionary service, I was to study the scriptures every day for at least two-three hours. It was the first thing I had to do in early mornings. They filled me with so much power and protection than anything else could do. Combined with faith and prayer, studying the scriptures is the best spiritual nourishment my soul needs everyday. Just like the phone needs a charged battery to work, so does our faith needs spiritual recharge, the spiritual recharge we find in studying the scriptures.

And, behold, thou art my son; wherefore look, and I will show thee the workmanship of mine hands; but not all, for my works are without end, and also my words, for they never cease.

Moses 1:4 (The Pearl of Great Price)

When I study the scriptures, my mind is enlarged by the knowledge of great events that took place thousands and millions of years ago. Reading the scriptures shows deep gratitude to those who sacrificed so much to bring them to life. God called prophets to write the scriptures by His power and grace. It is faith building to me to know that with God anything was possible and the scriptures were written and preserved for many years to bring them to us. I remember when I used to travel, I would always bring my quadruple scriptures with me. They meant a lot to me to leave them behind. I love Nephi’s declaration of love and faith towards the holy scriptures:

And we had obtained the records which the Lord had commanded us, and searched them and found that they were desirable; yea, even of great worth unto us, insomuch that we could preserve the commandments of the Lord unto our children.

1 Nephi 5:21

I believe the Bible, as long as it is translated correctly, to be the word of God. I believe the Book of Mormon to be the word of God, and by studying it, I came to know and love God with all my heart. The scriptures are a declaration of God’s love for us, studying them is a declaration of our love for Him. Along with the continual revelations we receive by our modern living prophets and apostles, we have the voice of God ringing to our ears and we must allow it to enter into our hearts. What a glorious day to live to have the Holy Scriptures available to us in every language and in any physical and electronic form. No doubt the Lord has blessed us so very much because we have the His words with us – the Holy Scriptures.

Leave a comment