Fasting

One of the most remarkable principles of the Gospel of Jesus Christ is fasting. Fasting is a sign of love and devotion to God. We are taught to love God with all of hearts, mind, might, and strength (Luke 10:27). That means obeying His commandments, even if some of them are hard to obey. I am inspired by my Muslim friends who fast for a whole month. They are not to eat or drink from sunrise till sunset. I know a lot of religious people that fast in their own way.

Picture 006

When I grow up in my church I learned that fasting was a commandment that every member of the church, that is able to fast, should do so at least once a month. When we fast we choose not to eat for two consecutive meals and donate the amount of money that meal could cost in order to help the poor. Fasting donations are given to the poor and the needy. Most of the donations secure shelter, food, clothes and basic needs of life. The church has used most of these donations from fasting to help many people in catastrophic events and calamitous situations. This knowledge makes me love the principle of fasting and it grows my desire to hold fasting more often in my life and be generous with the offering.

I understand that keeping this commandment for some people it’s difficult and some times even impossible. I know that refraining from eating and drinking for two meals can be hard, especially when someone is working. I remember when I used to work in a restaurant in the Middle East. I continue to fast while I was working. It would have been easier if I was working elsewhere, but working and serving food to others made me so tempted to break the fast. To be honest, sometimes I did break the fast unexpectedly and unaware. I also know that refraining from eating and drinking in a hot environment is tough. Regardless of how hard fasting it is, if done in the right way and for the right reason, fasting can bless our lives -physically and spiritually.

Think of fasting as a sacrifice of love to God. In ancient times, believers were asked to sacrifice and give their burnt offerings. Nowadays, we have commandments to keep and laws to obey. I understand fasting as a sign of obedience, but also a sign of love. We can fast for any purpose and for anyone. I fast for a lot of things like receiving more peace in my life, a blessing to my loved ones, good grades at school, productive work at my job and more strength to live the gospel. It makes fasting easier if you remember the reason why you are fasting.

Continue in fasting and praying, and endure to the end; and as the Lord liveth ye will be saved.

Omni 1:26

Fasting has been declared by scientists as a needful procedure for the body to receive cleansing and strength. They say that fasting help promotes better health and can help decrease levels of inflammation. Yet other people ask “Why did God give us this commandment? Why we need to refrain the thing that is important to live?” While Jesus was fasting for forty days in the wilderness, Satan tempted him by asking him to turn stones into bread. Jesus understood the importance of fast and gave not into temptation.

“But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’ ”

Matthew 4:4 (The New Testament, The Bible KJV)

Whenever we feel tempted to break the fast or to decide not to fast at all, we need to remind yourself the “WHY” we fast. Learning the “WHY” will help us to only ask “WHEN” we can fast again. There is power in fasting. It comes in physical form where our bodies receive their needed cleansing and our souls received their essential strength. Another blessing we receive from proper fast is that God hears our prayers more closely and answers them more easily when we draw closer to him in fasting and prayer. Fasting always has to include a sincere and regular prayer throughout the process.

 Is not this the fast that I have chosen? to loose the bands of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, and to let the oppressed go free, and that ye break every yoke? Is it not to deal thy bread to the hungry, and that thou bring the poor that are cast out to thy house? when thou seest the naked, that thou cover him; and that thou hide not thyself from thine own flesh?”

Isaiah 58:6 (Old Testament, The Bible KJV)

Whenever I give my fast offering, I feel so much love from the people I never met before. I am overwhelmed by the appreciation of hundreds and thousands of people who will find relief and refuge from my donation. Fasting has increased my humility and love for the poor and the needy. With a proper fast and a generous donation, they feel of our love and care for us. Because they go hungry and thirsty for days and weeks out of desperation, we can go out of food and water for only two meals out of love and respect for them. Gratitude is the core concept of why we fast. We tend to forget or even take for granted the temporal blessings we have from our loving Heavenly Father. When we refrain from eating and drinking, we can feel gratitude that after fasting we will have food and water in our homes.

Let us choose to fast once a month and give a generous offer. Its a blessing to fast. They who cannot refrain from food and water for two consecutive meals can fast in other ways by choosing not to watch tv, surf the internet or any other worldly thing. As long we are sincere and fast properly, God will bless us.

Moreover when ye fast, be not, as the hypocrites, of a sad countenance: for they disfigure their faces, that they may appear unto men to fast. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.  But thou, when thou fastest, anoint thine head, and wash thy face;  That thou appear not unto men to fast, but unto thy Father which is in secret: and thy Father, which seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly.

Matthew 6:16-18 (New Testament, The Bible KJV)
Jesus fasting for forty days in the wilderness.

I know most of my earnest prayers have received answers when I chose to fast. My loved ones have been blessed whenever I fasted for them and their wellbeing. Also, fasting has procedded miracles in my life. Because of fasting, I received my answer to serve a full-time mission and lastly to know if I would marry my wife, Rebekah. My faith has been stronger and my testimony has grown tremendously. My gratitude has incread for the many temporal and spiritual blessings I have in my life. Fasting brings the Spirit more abundantly in your life. Its purpose is to bring us down in humility and ultimately draw closer to Heavenly Father.

” Then shalt thou call, and the Lord shall answer; thou shalt cry, and he shall say, Here I am.”

Isaiah 58:9 (The Old Testament, The Bible KJV)

One thought on “Fasting

Leave a comment