Always Remember Him

Do you know what is the most common word mentioned in Holy Scriptures? It turns out that the word remember is mentioned more than 100 times in both the Bible and the Book of Mormon. In all situations, the word has been directed to people who lacked faith and had too many doubts. Nevertheless, the word remember has great significance and importance in our journey with God. But what or who should we remember? Why is remembering the Savior so important? How can we always remember Him?

The sacramental prayer contains some of the most beautiful words. We utter the prayer while breaking and blessing the bread and the water. Every word is read as it is written with no errors. I am going to talk about the most important part of that prayer where the word remember is mentioned. “That they may do it in remembrance” and “Always remember Him” are the two phrases we hear more often on the sacramental prayer of the bread and we hear them again at the other sacramental prayer on the water. In an article by John S. Tanner published in the Ensign of April 1986, we read, “We partake of the sacrament in remembrance. The sacrament is a memorial, not a reenactment. The emblems of the Atonement are not magically transformed into body and blood, as many believe. When I recollect the great turmoil that this single point has caused, the countless thousands who have been persecuted and even killed for believing one way or another about it, how grateful I am for the unambiguous clarity of our revealed sacrament prayers. These emblems represent the Lord’s body and blood, and so we come to remember.” The sacrament reminds us of the importance of always remembering the Savior.

When I think of remembering the Savior, I think of his precious life and mission, His sacrifice and atonement, His resurrection and second coming. We try to remember everything the Savior did and was. These thoughts bring my attention to Him and therefore I feel very close to Him. You would not likely forget your family or your loved one. Most of us would remember the times we spent with them and how important they are in our lives. Remembering them means appreciating by always thinking of them. While we remember, we try to connect with them and invite them more in our life. No one wants to be forgotten. It seems that of the attributes of love is thoughtfulness.

O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee, in the name of thy Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this wine to the souls of all those who drink of it, that they may do it in remembrance of the blood of thy Son, which was shed for them; that they may witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they do always remember him, that they may have his Spirit to be with them. Amen. O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee in the name of thy Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this bread to the souls of all those who partake of it; that they may eat in remembrance of the body of thy Son, and witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they are willing to take upon them the name of thy Son, and always remember him, and keep his commandments which he hath given them, that they may always have his Spirit to be with them. Amen.  

Moroni 4:3 , 5:2, The Book of Mormon

Nowadays it’s impossible to forget about some things like our keys, our phones, and our wallets. We don’t forget about these because we know we need them so desperately. Sometimes it happens that we forget about things, but forgetting them too long can have consequences. I am so bad at remembering stuff in general so my iPhone’s app Reminders help me to write down the things I need to remember. That is why Moses wrote down the ten commandments on stone because he knew that people will not remember them. Likewise, the teachings of God were written for us in the Scriptures so we can remember the lessons and experiences we need to remember.

While the world keeps moving and most of the people get very busy, the temptation to forget the Lord is growing higher. There is not enough time, some people might say. What they are really saying, I have time, but I have chosen to dedicate it somewhere else. In all that we do, the adversary Satan himself would be extremely happy to have forgotten things of greater importance. Because when we forget important things like gospel topics, commandments, truths, duties and feelings of the Spirit, we distance ourself from them until they abandon us. Things like Christmas and Easter have been given us to remind us to always remember the Savior, not for a day or two, but always. I know that remembering the Savior would bring happiness to our Heavenly Father, but it certainly it will bring us joy and peace.

I have found three ways to help me always remember my Savior, every hour, every day, every week and every month. First is prayer. When I pray or think to pray, my mind turns to the Savior. I think of Him and wish to speak things from my heart. Prayer makes it possible for me to realize and appreciate that God listens to me. It brings pleasure to my soul whenever my prayers are answered. Because we are commandment by the Savior “to pray always” so we need to pray when we go to sleep and when we wake up, and also we need to pray throughout the day. Likewise, we pray before we eat and before we open/close any meetings in the church. One of my favorite times to pray is when I walk. Whenever I pray, I remember the Savior.

Second is studying the Holy Scriptures. Reading the scriptures and studying them has helped me the most to remember my Savior and his exemplary life. While doing so, my mind and heart draw to Him because I learn from his life and feel the Holy Spirit touches me. The Scriptures help me understand His gospel and live His teachings. I reflect on the most important things I need to do in order to receive peace and comfort. When I open the Book of Mormon I start to remember the Saviors love for all mankind and His loving ministry among the Nephites. The Bible and other Holy Scriptures help me remember what the Savior did for the people, so this helps me appreciate Him even more. When I study the Scriptures, I remember the Savior.

Third is church. Of course going to church helps us all remember the Savior. Everything we do in the church points to Him like, singing hymns, saying prayers, partaking the sacrament, listening to talks and lessons and sharing testimonies. Most of the walls have paintings that depict the ministry and life of the Savior. Our minds turn to him when we worship Him every Sunday, or any other day of the week, in His church. Temples are also a good reminder of the Savior love of us and our eternal pontential to live with Him someday. Whenever I have been to the temple or the church, I have felt His holy Spirit and His presence more closely to my heart. When I go to church, I remember the Savior.

And thus we see that except the Lord doth chasten his people with many afflictions, yea, except he doth visit them with death and with terror, and with famine and with all manner of pestilence, they will not remember him.

Helaman 12:3, The Book of Mormon

These three ways, I just shared with you, have helped me remember the Savior. There is another thing that helps me every time to remember Him, that is service. Service to others brings the spirit of Christ because He also served everyone. He was selfless, and He dedicated His whole life in the service of others by helping, supporting, lifting them up and healing them. His love was manifest through service. I have had the opportunity in many instances to serve others, whether that be ministering, serving in the community, giving priesthood blessings and fellowshipping in the church. Service has brought so much peace and joy to me. Jesus Christ is the Master who came to serve others and by following His example we become a true disciple of His indeed. When I serve others, I remember the Savior.

John S. Tanner continues to explain what it really means to “always remember” the Savior, “Still, the divine imperative remains: to always remember. As we pursue normal weekday activities, with our conscious minds we must inevitably think of many things other than the Atonement (and this is proper; our faith does not idealize monastic and cloistered virtue). Therefore, if we are to always remember the Lord, we must remember him not simply with our waking consciousness, but also with our unconscious. His law must be written not only in our minds but on the “fleshy tables of the heart.” (2 Cor. 3:3.) The sacrament invites us to fix our whole souls upon the Lord and his righteousness.”

Honestly, there are countless ways we can remember the Savior. We don’t need only things, objects or places to help us remember the Savior. When we are humble and choose to walk in His footsteps, we remember Him. He becomes so real in our lives because He is real! The Savior needs us and we need Him. Our faith and hope depend on how much we retain Him and his lessons into our remembrance. Remembering is a first step that leads us to living His gospel and becoming true disciple. No matter how difficult and busy our lives get, let us make time for the Savior and always remember Him. I know that God loves us and He thinks of us every hour of every day. They constantly keep us in their remembrance, and I know we can too. Always remembering Jesus Christ will bring us hope, faith, and peace into our lives, and in short, He will be there for us when we seek, knock or invite Him.

Leave a comment