I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.”

Romans 1:16

The gospel of Jesus Christ and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has been a part of my life for nearly 9 years now. From the beginning, I have felt that God was trying to reach out to me but I was confused and unlearned and I didn’t know where or how to turn to Him. Long story short, after a friend of mine, brought me to church to get acquainted with it, I started to like the people, the church, and most importantly, what they were teaching me. After several lessons and a few short but sincere prayers, I felt the need and desire to be baptized. Since then, my life has changed completely and I have also changed. The gospel now means more to me than anything else.

When I was reading the scripture that Paul wrote to the Romans, who were considered enemies to the Jews, I was reminded of other examples in the scriptures where holy man were courageous to admit they were not ashamed of what they believed. Noah, Samuel, David, Daniel, Lehi, and Moroni are just a few examples of determination, courage, faith, and above all, faithfulness. Neither of these people denied their faith or hidden their morals from others who mocked them, ridicule them and unfortunately for some, even killed them. This determination is becoming my strength and hope to one day be like them and courageously be proud of the gospel of Christ and never, ever be ashamed of it.

No one can love anyone like God loves us.

When reading the scriptures we understand more fully the consequences of being ashamed of the gospel. Like the Savior said, “For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words, of him will the Son of Man be ashamed when he comes in his glory and the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” – Luke 9:26. We must not allow ourselves to feel embarrassed, awkward, uncomfortable, or remorseful of the gospel of peace, love, and, eternal life. God loves us, very much, despite how weak, sinful, and unrighteous we sometimes are.

I also learned that when we are ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ we deny its power, meaning, and purpose to us. We don’t value it but rather we are rejecting its promised blessing and avoiding to partake of its blessings. I think one of the purposes of the gospel is to truly transform us like it has done for me for these many years. But the gospel can’t transform or change me unless I stay faithful and be faithful to it in any circumstance or with people I am with.

God is our friend, the best friend we can ever have, so why we would be ashamed of Him?

The blessing of being faithful to God and His gospel are endless. Heavenly Father wants us to be successful and happy and that is why we can’t be ashamed of the one good thing that we can have in life. If we strive to always be his witnesses and never be ashamed of Him or His gospel, God will do the same for us. As the Savior said, “So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.”– Matthew 10:32-33.

When we come to understand and appreciate the gospel for what it is, we will never be ashamed of it rather we would be proud and joyful.

Of course, none of us can become like Paul just like that. It took many years and plenty of instructive challenges for Paul to become the Paul who is not ashamed of the gospel and to know for a surety that the gospel is the power to save all mankind. There are many reasons why people choose to be ashamed of the gospel, but the one reason that seems to be the core is that people don’t truly understand or value the blessings or goodness of the gospel and Jesus Christ himself. Needless to say that this is easier said than done, but like I mentioned earlier all those holy men, who were never ashamed of the gospel, had courage as well as faith.

When we are ashamed of the gospel, we not only feel guilty but make a Father in Heaven sad and disappointed of us.

“Yet if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not be ashamed, but let him glorify God in that name.”

1 Peter 4:16

We can choose to start at the beginning and take small steps whether it is admitting on social media that you are a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, or telling people the real reason why we are dressed nice and leave home early on Sunday morning, or even trying to say “Hello” and wave at the missionaries when you see them in the street. Whatever it is, I know we will be blessed and loved even more if we truly are proud and joyful of the gospel of Jesus Christ which is truly the power to save all mankind, including you. If we are ashamed of it, we truly make a mistake that will make us feel guilty and make a Father in Heaven feel sadden and disappointed. It is my hope and prayer that we will find the courage to say like Paul, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ…”Romans 1:16.

Leave a comment