“For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth”

While reading this scripture from Hebrews chapter 12, verse 6 that says, “For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.” I got comforted from the knowledge that God truly loves us and there is nothing he does that is not for our benefit. Because the Lord loves us, He chastens us. What does this really mean? At first, I realized that God allows us to suffer or be corrected and reproved because of His concern and love for our wellbeing. Surely, God is smarter, intelligent, and all-knowing than anyone, and He knows what we need and what’s best for us. To accept the doctrine that God chastens us because He loves us, takes a lot of courage, humility, and trust, above all trust. 

The next scripture explains this notion and truth that God corrects us because of his kindness and love for us. Paul, while he is writing these verses feels inspired to include and compare both the parental behaviors and actions of our earthy and heavenly parents. “Furthermore we have had fathers of our flesh which corrected us, and we gave them reverence: shall we not much rather be in subjection unto the Father of spirits, and live?” – Hebrews 12:9. I can relate with this scripture because truly my parents, out of love and care, did correct me and chastened me for me to learn and live in a good way. Out of respect for my parents, although, I did not like their chastisement, I respected them, trusting (there is that word again) that their intention and purpose was to care, love, and except the best for me. 

How can we know that our parents love us by chastening us? Well, I think I have another scripture that answers that question, “If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not? But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons.” – Hebrews 12:7-8. There is a reason why God is speaking boldly and openly regarding this topic because He knows that if we are not corrected or chastened during our life, we will never become better or do better in life. Almost everyone needs that chastisement to shape and mold their lives and themselves. We have to trust God, like our parents, that He knows what’s best for us and that He loves us so deeply. 

Chastisement can be life-changing or life breaking. I would encourage chastisement to be nonphysical but emotional and spiritual. No one should be beaten or hurt to learn a lesson. God would not suffer that we suffer beyond that we can overcome. The reason why He wants us to be chastened is so that we can produce good things and become the person He wants us to be. He teaches this in the next scripture where He says, “Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.” – Hebrews 12:11. God sympathizes with us and knows that chastisement is grievous and unpleasant but the results that come from it are precious. 

What I learned from these couple of scriptures from Hebrews chapter 12 is about the love of God and His wonderful parenting. I know I have been chastened many times by the Lord, and by my parents, and on both occasions, I feel grateful and blessed because they allowed me to like the scripture says produce “peaceable fruit of righteousness” We know that time on Earth would be difficult we agreed to be tested, tried, and tempted, to prove ourselves worthy. Chastisement provides just that, the tool and the way we can be sanctified, strengthen, and glorious. But to be sharpened and strengthened, we must be mended and refined by the hands of our merciful, kind, and forever loving Father in Heaven. I will trust Him to be my father and I will allow myself to be His obedient, humble, and submissive child. 

Leave a comment